01 Ryan cover

Ryan Crouchman: A head full of colors

To say that Ryan is passionate about design would be an understatement. Everything about him emanates design, starting with his well-groomed look: he never strays from his monochrome palette, except for an occasional pop of Pantone 123. His love of design started at a young age. When he was 11, he launched his own magazine featuring articles on fashion that he wrote on a typewriter. Today, Ryan considers himself lucky because he managed to turn his passion into a career. His ultimate goal in life? To continuously seek inspiration and never stop creating.

02 Ryan antique
03 Antique letters
04 Stairs
05 Salon
03 Antique letters
04 Stairs
05 Salon
03 Antique letters

04 Stairs

05 Salon

For the past 9 years, Ryan has lived with his partner Jim in Toronto’s Junction neighbourhood. The newly gentrified area is brimming with unusual antique gems, which he regularly uses as sources of inspiration.

06 Street
07 Earl Selkirk
08 Antique
09 Ryan Earl Selkirk
07 Earl Selkirk
08 Antique
09 Ryan Earl Selkirk
07 Earl Selkirk

08 Antique

09 Ryan Earl Selkirk

On weekends he typically takes a neighbourhood stroll, hitting up his usual spots. For him, an outing like this is akin to visiting a museum. His heightened curiosity has him rummaging in the darkest corners of his favourite salvage shops, opening every drawer and taking it all in (much of it ending up in his insta feed.) He is particularly drawn to bright colours, old objects, and retro typography (with a preference for Futura and Helvetica.)

10 Papers
11 Poster
12 Photos
14 Downstair

Ryan enjoys peace and quiet. You’ll never catch him in a karaoke bar. The only time he sings is when he’s alone in a car. Although, if you play some good disco, chances are he’ll shake a leg (or at least tap a toe.) When he wants to add to his vintage record collection, he combs the dollar bins of a local used record shop. He uses discretion when browsing though, as he is a self-described minimalist and hates clutter. Except when it comes to books. Because you can never have too many books.

16 Vinyl
17 Disco
18 Herbi Nichols Trio
15 Book
20 Soluble

All of this comes to an end when the sun comes out and he ditches the shops for a bike ride to Toronto Island where he and Jim spend lazy summer Sundays reading and swimming. Although he dresses in monochrome, his head is always filled with colours.

21 Beach
22 Ryan Vacation
23 Ryan posters

01 Ryan cover

Ryan Crouchman : Une tête remplie de couleurs

Dire que Ryan est un passionné de design est un euphémisme. Tout chez lui transpire le design, en commençant par son look ultra-soigné : il ne déroge jamais de sa palette monochrome, qu’il accompagne occasionnellement d’une touche de Pantone 123. C’est ancré en lui depuis qu’il est tout jeune. À 11 ans, il lançait son propre magazine avec des articles de fond sur la mode. Chaque numéro était produit en cinq exemplaires, à la machine à écrire. Aujourd’hui, Ryan s’estime chanceux d'avoir réussi à allier sa passion et sa profession. Son but dans la vie ? S’inspirer continuellement et ne jamais arrêter de créer, tout simplement.

02 Ryan antique
03 Antique letters
04 Stairs
05 Salon
03 Antique letters
04 Stairs
05 Salon
03 Antique letters

04 Stairs

05 Salon

Ryan habite depuis neuf ans avec son copain dans le quartier Junction à Toronto. Nouvellement embourgeoisé, le secteur regorge de petits bijoux d’antiquaires au caractère singulier qui ne cessent de l’inspirer.

06 Street
07 Earl Selkirk
08 Antique
09 Ryan Earl Selkirk
07 Earl Selkirk
08 Antique
09 Ryan Earl Selkirk
07 Earl Selkirk

08 Antique

09 Ryan Earl Selkirk

Le week-end, Ryan y fait son petit tour, toujours en quête d’objets plus étranges les uns que les autres. Pour lui, c’est aussi inspirant qu’une sortie au musée. Sa curiosité l’amène à fouiller jusqu’au fond des boutiques et à ouvrir tous les tiroirs pour ne rien manquer (une partie de ses découvertes se retrouve ensuite sur Instagram). Il est particulièrement attiré par les couleurs éclatantes, les vieux objets et la vieille typo (avec une préférence pour Futura et Helvetica).

10 Papers
11 Poster
12 Photos
14 Downstair

Ryan aime la tranquillité. Vous ne le verrez jamais dans un bar de karaoké. Les seules fois qu’il chante, c’est dans son auto, seul. Mais faites jouer du bon disco et il tapera au moins du pied. Quand il a envie de renflouer sa collection de vinyles, il parcourt les caisses à un dollar d’un petit disquaire du coin. En bon minimaliste qui déteste les espaces encombrés, il essaye quand même de restreindre ses achats. Sauf pour les livres. Parce que des livres, on n’en a jamais assez.

16 Vinyl
17 Disco
18 Herbi Nichols Trio
15 Book
20 Soluble

Quand il fait beau, il troque le magasinage pour une balade en vélo vers les îles de Toronto, où Jim et lui passent de longs dimanches paisibles à lire et à se baigner. Et même s’il est vêtu de façon monochrome, sa tête est toujours remplie de couleurs.

21 Beach
22 Ryan Vacation
23 Ryan posters