00 COVER Pinball MAD

Marc-André Dandurand: Web player

Marc-André has the Web tattooed on his heart and arm. He’s a master at creating GIFs and memes that get people clicking. A born creative who can imagine a project in his head from beginning to end in a single metro ride. When he’s not scrolling his Instagram page packed with illustrations, tattoos and “a lot of other Internet scrap,” he finds time to disconnect. Not how, but where. At the North Star, a pinball arcade and bar on the Main, right next to the agency.

01 North Star
02 Pinball entree
03 Pinball horizontal

On some nights, Marc-André veers off course and heads to the North Star long enough to enjoy one (or several) beers. He can spot the new games in a single glance. No question Marc-André is a true gamer. It’s not just about the action, however; the illustrations and details of each game elicit an intense childlike fascination. Their vintage look feeds his love of 90s pop culture.

04 Pinball rapproche
05 Pinball jukebox
06 Pinball

His passion for drawing and comics took root during this time, when he realized he had zero talent for sports. Long story short, during his second baseball game ever, he sprained a thumb, which put an end to his athletic career for good. So, he turned to comics for fun. Hopping on his bike every weekend to go to the library, he would take out as many comics as he was allowed. His backpack full, he’d tear back home to his bedroom to read everything in one go. Maxing out the 15-book limit, he’d make a second trip in the afternoon if he felt like it, reading up to 30 comics on some days.

09 BD vertical
07 BD livre

Same thing for Lego. When he was very young, he’d spend hours meticulously building scenes, engrossed by the thinking and planning required. Once the scene was complete, he’d put it all away. Playing with it, you see, was never his goal.

A visit to Marc-André’s home includes a tour of his Ali Baba den jammed full of 90s memorabilia. Your eyes jump from an impressive array of comics and Lego pieces to Star Wars figures, a ton of retro gadgets and a dog that’s a poster pet for the best the Internet has to offer.

10 Legos horizontal

If something inspires Marc-André, he takes it seriously. He even chose his dog as a nod to the popular Doge meme that took over the Internet awhile back. He trained it to make the exact same pose. We’re all waiting for him to discover his next big inspiration, along with the GIF that will no doubt follow.

11 Yuki leche
13 MAD

00 COVER Pinball MAD

Marc-André Dandurand : Joueur du web

Marc-André a le web tatoué sur le cœur et les bras. On le sait brillant pour concocter des gifs et des memes qui ne laissent personne indifférent. Créatif à l’état pur, il est capable de terminer un projet dans sa tête en une seule ride de métro. Et quand il n’est pas en train de s’inspirer en scrollant son Instagram qui déborde d’illustrateurs, de tatoueurs et de « ben d’la scrap d’internet », il trouve le temps de déconnecter. Son endroit de prédilection ? Le North Star, un bar à jeu non numérique sur la Main, juste à côté du bureau.

01 North Star
02 Pinball entree
03 Pinball horizontal

Certains soirs, Marc-André se laisse dévier de sa trajectoire pour atterrir au North Star, le temps de s’envoyer une (ou plusieurs) bière (s). Un seul coup d’œil lui suffit pour repérer tous les nouveaux jeux. Marc-André est un gamer, c’est indéniable. Mais ce qui le fait vraiment triper, c’est les illustrations et le détail de chaque jeu. Il les étudie avec les yeux d’un enfant fasciné. Le côté vintage des jeux ravive instantanément sa fascination pour la culture pop des années 90.

04 Pinball rapproche
05 Pinball jukebox
06 Pinball

Sa passion pour le dessin et la BD vient d’ailleurs de cette époque. Au même moment où il a découvert l’inexistence de son talent pour le sport. Pour la petite histoire, lors de sa deuxième game de baseball à vie, il s’est foulé un pouce, ce qui a mis un terme définitif à sa carrière d’athlète. Il s’est alors mis à triper à un autre niveau, sur les bandes dessinées. Au point de sauter sur son vélo tous les week-ends en direction de la bibliothèque. Il empruntait le maximum de BD qui lui était permis. Son butin entassé dans son sac à dos, il retournait à toute vitesse pour tout lire d’une lecture ininterrompue dans son lit. Comme il n’avait droit qu’à 15 livres, il s’offrait, quand il se sentait motivé, une deuxième virée en après-midi et il pouvait, certains jours, lire jusqu’à 30 BD.

09 BD vertical
07 BD livre

Même chose pour les Lego. Tout jeune, il passait des heures à construire méticuleusement des scènes simplement pour le processus de réflexion que ça lui demandait. Une fois le paysage terminé, il rangeait tout. Jouer lui paraissait beaucoup moins intéressant.

On arrive chez Marc-André et on découvre une caverne d’Ali Baba débordante de trésors sortis tout droit des années 90. Devant nos yeux, une impressionnante collection de bandes dessinées et de Lego, de figurines de Star Wars, de bébelles rétro presque à la grandeur et un chien digne de ce que le web a de meilleur à offrir.

10 Legos horizontal

Marc-André prend très au sérieux tout ce qui l’inspire. Il a même spécifiquement choisi son chien pour rendre hommage au célèbre meme Doge. Et il lui a enseigné à faire la pose jusqu’à ce qu’il atteigne la perfection. On attend juste de découvrir sa prochaine grande inspiration. Et le gif qui en suivra.

11 Yuki leche
13 MAD