01 Luke Cover

Luke Whitty: Cultivating his passions

You don’t need to know that Luke Whitty comes from a family of entrepreneurs to see that he’s overflowing with business savvy.

Luke loves collecting projects. At lg2, he acts as an account manager, but he’s also involved in two family businesses. On top of that, he launched a cider startup two years ago. In speaking to him, you can tell that there’s a lot going on in there.

In order to really get to know Luke, you need to take a two-hour drive outside of Toronto to the small town of St. Catharines. There, you’ll find Whitty Farms, the family farm passed down from generation to generation where Luke and his two brothers were raised by their parents. The farm, which is a mix of traditional and modern, is where Luke first started to dream big, well before seeing the skyscrapers of Toronto.

02 Luke portrait

Like all self-respecting farmers, work quickly became a part of Luke’s daily life. As soon as he was big enough to carry a basket, he began berry picking from morning to evening. It wasn’t long before Luke came to realize the true value of products and the food that ended up on his plate.

Luke gets his inspiration from his two biggest role models, his parents. His eyes light up when he talks about them. His mom, a total girlboss, has always masterfully managed over 100 employees. His dad is the perfect example of a hard worker who never keeps track of his hours.

03 Kid
04 Kid grapes
05 Kid dog
06 Cuisine

On top of working full-time on their farm, The Whittys also own 13th Street Winery, a successful vineyard that blends together their passion for wine, art, good food and hospitality. Luke also inherited all these passions. One summer, he even worked as interim chef at the vineyard without any knowledge of the job. After a six-month crash course, he was in the running for the title of best cook in the family.

07 Champignons
08 Super market

With his family being so involved in the wine industry, it was only natural that Luke would throw himself into the world of alcohol. He, along with two friends, founded Second Press, a small artisanal cider company, when they were still in university. While their first batch might have only been used for a salad dressing, Luke isn’t hiding his desire to grow the company anymore. He still feels the product needs to go from good to excellent. That’s his motto with everything he does.

09 Appel
10 Bottle

While nurturing his entrepreneurial side on the farm, Luke also developed a love for animals, most notably, the three Golden Retrievers his family had successively. He even goes so far as to say that he’s the biggest dog person in the Toronto office (sorry Rachael). This passion led him to sign up to Rover, the equivalent of Airbnb for dog walkers. Demand for his services was so high that he practically became a full-time dog walker. It was so intense, he had to eventually unsubscribe.

12 Luke dog
11 Dog sky
13 Dog

Luke’s future is full of possibilities. He could take over the family businesses with his two brothers, bring his cider company to the next level or continue growing at lg2 for a long time. One thing is certain: Wherever Luke goes, a dog (or dogs) will be at his side.

14 Luke end

01 Luke Cover

Luke Whitty : Se nourrir de ses passions

Même pas besoin de savoir que Luke Whitty vient d’une famille d’entrepreneurs pour s’apercevoir que le sens des affaires coule dans ses veines.

Luke cumule les projets ; chez lg2 où il agit comme conseiller mais aussi à l’extérieur où il s’implique dans les deux entreprises familiales en plus d’avoir lancé une start-up de cidre il y a deux ans. En lui parlant, on constate que ça bouille en dedans.

Pour bien saisir Luke, il faut sortir de Toronto et faire une virée de 2 heures en voiture jusqu’à la petite municipalité de St. Catharines. C’est sur une petite ferme familiale, whitty Farms, transmise de génération en génération, que Luke a grandi avec ses parents et ses deux frères. À la fois traditionnel et moderne, c’est sur même ferme qu’il a développé ses idées de grandeur, bien avant de voir les gratte-ciels de Toronto.

02 Luke portrait

Comme tout fermier qui se respecte, le travail a vite fait partie de la vie de Luke. Dès qu’il a été assez grand pour transporter un panier, il a mis l’épaule à la roue et s’est lancé dans la cueillette de fruits, du matin au soir. Habitué à mettre les bouchées doubles, Luke a vite compris la valeur réelle des produits et des aliments qui terminent leur chemin dans son assiette.

Luke tire son inspiration de ses deux plus grandes idoles, ses parents. Ses yeux s’illuminent lorsqu’il en parle. D’un côté, sa mère en véritable girlboss, a toujours géré d’une main de maître une centaine d’employés. De l’autre, son père est l’exemple parfait du travailleur acharné qui n’a jamais compté ses heures.

03 Kid
04 Kid grapes
05 Kid dog
06 Cuisine

En plus de s’investir dans leur ferme à temps plein, les Whitty sont aussi propriétaires de 13th Street Winery, un vignoble prospère mariant leur passion pour le vin, l’art, la bonne bouffe et l’hospitalité. Des passions que Luke a lui-même hérité. La cuisine, tout particulièrement. Un été, il est même devenu chef par intérim du vignoble, sans rien savoir du métier. Après un crash course de six mois, Luke était en lice pour le titre du meilleur cuisinier de la famille.

07 Champignons
08 Super market

Le milieu vinicole étant au cœur de la famille, c’était tout naturel que Luke se lance à son tour dans l’univers de l’alcool. Avec deux amis, il a fondé Second Press, une petite compagnie de cidre artisanal, alors qu’ils étaient encore à l’université. Si, la première batch a surtout été utilisée comme vinaigrette à salade, Luke ne cache plus ses aspirations de faire pousser la compagnie. Le produit doit par contre encore passer de bon à excellent. C’est son mantra dans tout ce qu’il entreprend.

09 Appel
10 Bottle

En plus d’avoir cultivé sa fibre entrepreneuriale à la ferme, Luke a également développé un amour des animaux, notamment pour les trois Golden que la famille a eus successivement. Depuis, Luke voue presque un culte à l’animal de compagnie. Il se plaît même à dire qu’il est le plus grand « dog person » du bureau de Toronto (désolé Rachael). Cette passion l’a amené à s’inscrire à l’application Rover, un équivalent de Airbnb pour les marcheurs de chiens. La demande pour ses services est devenue si forte que Luke s’est pratiquement mis à promener des chiens à temps plein. Au point où il a fallu à qu’il se désabonne.

12 Luke dog
11 Dog sky
13 Dog

L'horizon de Luke est rempli de possibilités. Il pourrait reprendre les entreprises familiales avec ses deux frères, faire évoluer sa compagnie de cidre ou grandir chez lg2 encore longtemps. Une seule certitude pour Luke: il y aura des chiens à ses côtés.

14 Luke end