LG2 packaging new

Packaging

Count to three

That’s how long it takes the average person to read this sentence. It’s also how long it takes the average consumer to make a purchase decision. Just three seconds, standing in a grocery aisle, hesitating between two similar products. Three seconds that are repeated millions of times a day across the country, every day. That’s why packaging design is so vital to a brand’s success. Because average packaging gets ignored on-shelf. Because no brand has the luxury of explaining to a consumer why they should be chosen over the other brand sitting next to them. Because distinctive, bold, engaging packaging design can say more about your brand in three seconds than a Times Square billboard or 30 seconds on TV. Packaging is the physical bond between the brand and consumer; its design determines how strong that bond will be.

Crouchman Ryan 2022 Intranet

In three seconds, great packaging design can communicate a brand’s DNA, create impact at point-of-sale, stimulate interest, facilitate decision making, clarify the product offering, and ultimately, inspire purchase.

Ryan Crouchman

Partner, Vice-President, Executive Creative Director, Branding and Design

80% of purchasing decisions are made in-store

The best packaging design challenges conventions, rewrites category codes and seduces a new generation of consumers while reigniting bonds with existing ones. Our challenge is to balance the practical design needs (function, protection, storage, transportation) with the potential for human connection (form, concept, colour). Our responsibility is to find design solutions that minimize environmental impact. Eco-conception is a holistic approach to packaging design that rethinks everything from materials to sourcing to transportation in order to help brands improve their footprint. Every category assumption can be questioned. These questions lead to creative solutions that create an emotional impact in-store. Exactly where 80% of purchasing decisions are made.

A collaborative process refined over 10 years

With the largest design team in Canada, we know the value of collaboration. The challenge is how best to balance individual talent with collective expertise while maintaining our focus on the end result. Our process involves all stakeholders early and often to ensure that all relevant information (research, strategy, insight) is disseminated. It is genuinely transparent, designed to maximize the quality of input and consistently iterate forward. We don’t present design concepts at first. In fact, we don’t even present. We leave client stakeholders alone with the work, so that they can experience it in the same way a consumer would, without intervention or justification for the choices we’ve made. It’s not always easy, but it works. And we’ve got more than a thousand designs on shelves today to prove it.

  • Brand diagnostic
  • Brand strategy and positioning
  • Product portfolio strategy / brand architecture
  • Brand identity
  • Retail and packaging design
  • Eco-design
  • Deployment plan
  • Naming
  • Shopper marketing
  • Product design
  • Production

Our experts

Crouchman Ryan 2022 Intranet

Ryan Crouchman

Partner, Vice-President, Executive Creative Director, Branding and Design – Toronto

Antoine Levasseur 9x11

Antoine Levasseur

Group Director, Branding and Design – Toronto

Kessous David 2022 Intranet

David Kessous

Vice-President, Executive Creative Director, Branding and Design – Montréal

Roussel Ingrid 2022 Intranet

Ingrid Roussel

Vice-President, Account Services, Branding and Design – Montreal

Fafard Marc Andre 2022 Intranet

Marc-André Fafard

Partner, Vice-President, Branding and Design – Montreal

De Varennes Jacques 2022 Intranet

Jacques de Varennes

Partner, Vice-President, Branding and Design – Quebec City

Crouchman Ryan 2022 Intranet

Ryan Crouchman

Partner, Vice-President, Executive Creative Director, Branding and Design – Toronto

Antoine Levasseur 9x11

Antoine Levasseur

Group Director, Branding and Design – Toronto

Kessous David 2022 Intranet

David Kessous

Vice-President, Executive Creative Director, Branding and Design – Montréal

Roussel Ingrid 2022 Intranet

Ingrid Roussel

Vice-President, Account Services, Branding and Design – Montreal

Fafard Marc Andre 2022 Intranet

Marc-André Fafard

Partner, Vice-President, Branding and Design – Montreal

De Varennes Jacques 2022 Intranet

Jacques de Varennes

Partner, Vice-President, Branding and Design – Quebec City

LG2 packaging new

Emballage

Comptez jusqu’à trois.

C’est le temps moyen qu’il faut à quelqu’un pour lire cette phrase. C’est aussi le temps moyen nécessaire à un consommateur pour se décider à l’achat. Trois petites secondes, debout dans l’allée de l’épicerie, à hésiter entre deux produits similaires. Trois secondes, répétées des millions de fois par jour, tous les jours, dans tout le pays. Voilà pourquoi le design d’emballage est à ce point vital pour le succès d’une marque. Parce qu’un emballage passable restera sur l’étagère, ignoré. Parce qu’aucune marque n’a le luxe d’expliquer à chaque consommateur pourquoi il devrait choisir son produit plutôt qu’un autre. Parce qu’un design d’emballage mémorable, original et engageant en dit plus sur une marque en trois secondes qu’un panneau sur Time Square ou un 30 secondes à la télé. L’emballage est le lien physique entre la marque et le consommateur. Et c’est son design qui déterminera la force de ce lien.

Ingrid Roussel 9x11

Un design d’emballage efficace influence toutes les étapes, du premier regard à l’achat d'un produit.

Ingrid Roussel

Vice-présidente – conseil, Design

80 % des décisions d’achat se prennent en magasin.

Les meilleurs designs d’emballages remettent en question les conventions, réécrivent les codes de leur catégorie et séduisent une nouvelle génération de consommateurs tout en renouant les liens avec ceux déjà acquis. Notre défi consiste à équilibrer les besoins utilitaires d’un design (praticité, protection, entreposage, transport) avec son potentiel humain (forme, concept, couleur). Notre responsabilité, elle, est de trouver des solutions de design qui minimisent l’impact environnemental. L’écoconception est une approche holistique du design qui repense l’intégralité d’un emballage, de ses matériaux à sa chaîne d’approvisionnement en passant par son transport, dans le but d’aider la marque à améliorer son empreinte écologique. Chaque idée préconçue, dans chaque catégorie, peut être remise en question. Ce sont ces questions qui mèneront à des solutions créatives, et à un impact émotionnel fort en magasin. Là où, justement, se prennent 80 % des décisions d’achat.

Un processus collaboratif perfectionné pendant plus de 10 ans.

Nous avons la plus grande équipe de design au Canada et nous comprenons très bien la valeur de la collaboration. Le défi est de réussir au mieux l’équilibre entre talent individuel et expertise collective, sans jamais perdre le résultat final de vue. Notre processus consiste à impliquer tous les intervenants le plus tôt et le plus souvent possible, afin de nous assurer que les informations pertinentes (recherche, stratégie, vision) sont bien transmises. Il mise véritablement sur la transparence, et a été conçu pour maximiser la qualité des commentaires et pour assurer une évolution significative à chaque itération. Nous ne commençons pas par présenter des concepts. En fait, nous ne présentons pas. Nous laissons le client seul avec nos propositions, pour qu’il puisse appréhender le design de la même façon que le ferait un consommateur : sans intervention ni justification de nos choix. C’est parfois disruptif, mais ça marche. Et nous avons plus d’un millier de designs sur les étagères pour le prouver.

  • Diagnostic de marque
  • Stratégie de marque et positionnement
  • Stratégie de portfolio / Architecture de marque
  • Identité visuelle
  • Design d’emballage
  • Écoconception
  • Planification de déploiement
  • Shopper Marketing
  • Design de produit
  • Production

Nos experts

David Kessous 9x11 1

David Kessous

Vice-président création, Design – Montréal

Jacques De Varennes 2000x2500

Jacques de Varennes

Associé, vice‑président, Design – Québec

Ingrid Roussel 9x11 1

Ingrid Roussel

Vice-présidente – conseil, Design – Montréal

Marc Andre Fafard 9x11 1

Marc-André Fafard

Vice-président, Design – Montréal

Ryan Crouchman 9x11

Ryan Crouchman

Vice-président création, Design – Toronto

Antoine Levasseur 9x11

Antoine Levasseur

Directeur groupe-conseil, Design – Toronto

David Kessous 9x11 1

David Kessous

Vice-président création, Design – Montréal

Jacques De Varennes 2000x2500

Jacques de Varennes

Associé, vice‑président, Design – Québec

Ingrid Roussel 9x11 1

Ingrid Roussel

Vice-présidente – conseil, Design – Montréal

Marc Andre Fafard 9x11 1

Marc-André Fafard

Vice-président, Design – Montréal

Ryan Crouchman 9x11

Ryan Crouchman

Vice-président création, Design – Toronto

Antoine Levasseur 9x11

Antoine Levasseur

Directeur groupe-conseil, Design – Toronto