01 Frak Cover

François Plourde: One of a kind

Mac artist, musician, prolific YouTuber, engaged citizen and 100% allergic to doing things the usual way. Meet François. Or as we know him, Frak. No, not Frank. He once signed an illustration omitting the “n” by mistake and his nickname was born. A nickname that has stuck with him as long as the tattoos covering most of his arm have.

02 Frak velo
04 Dessin

Let’s just say Frak can throw people off a little. It’s not every day that you meet someone this authentic. He has no problem describing his personal style as “a little rough around the edges.” Don’t blink when he nonchalantly calls his home a “hell of a mess.” Dressed permanently in wolf-themed T-shirts, you might wonder if he belongs to a werewolf fan club. Nope. That would be weird. It’s simply a longstanding joke amongst family and friends, who keep gifting him new t-shirts.

03 Frak portrait
07 Soulier
06 Sac
05 Loup
07 Soulier
06 Sac
05 Loup
07 Soulier

06 Sac

05 Loup

Art and nature have been central to Frak’s life ever since he was young. His First Nations roots and his parents’ hippie lifestyle probably having something to do with it. As a teen, he was a proud Scout member (until the age of 18!) and a drummer for a stoner rock group. One of the bands he played in broke through in the indie scene, so Frak did the touring life, laying down the beats in his wolf shirts. Later, he launched a YouTube channel to share his psychedelic video creations. His mind-bending images are as close to an acid trip as you can come without actually doing drugs. Today, the channel has over 20 million views. Curiously, most of his colleagues aren’t even aware of it.

08 Frak drum
09 Fraktopus
10 Drum

Frak recently put music aside to concentrate on a project that consumes most his time outside of the office. It all started in 2013 when he discovered the existence of an old creek that once ran past his backyard in Mercier: the Molson creek. Not long after, he joined five others to found the Coalition Sauvons le ruisseau Molson (see their brief), with a mission to link 15 natural areas in the north and south of Montreal. For the last six months, he has been working on the project full-time in addition to his full-time job at lg2. He affectionately calls these woodlands “my seigneury.”

15 Frak banc
12 Journal
13 Map
14 Arbre coupe
12 Journal
13 Map
14 Arbre coupe
12 Journal

13 Map

14 Arbre coupe

On weekends, Frak recharges in nature with his wife and son, trading in asphalt sidewalks for dirt paths as they go on long walks and bike rides. Clearly, he is fully in his element in the middle of the woods. He can pretty much name any plant or flower he comes across as if it were an old friend.

16 Troncs
17 Champignons
18 Feuilles
16 Troncs
17 Champignons
18 Feuilles
16 Troncs

17 Champignons

18 Feuilles

Frak hopes his fight to protect the woodlands of Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve bears fruit (and greenery). Until that day, he’s going to do all he can to prevent our urban forests from disappearing. Dressed in his signature shirts, he’ll shake hands with as many politicians as he has to. It’s his way of helping to make our world a little greener. Frak may be different, but that’s just fine. It’s people like him who walk a path less taken and who, in the end, make a real difference.

19 Frak end

01 Frak Cover

François Plourde : De nature unique en son genre

Il est à la fois graphiste, musicien, youtubeur prolifique, citoyen impliqué dans sa communauté et totalement allergique à faire les choses comme les autres. On vous présente François. Ou plutôt Frak. Un surnom qui lui colle à la peau depuis aussi longtemps que ses tatouages recouvrent une grande partie de ses bras. Pour la petite histoire, ce surnom lui vient d’une illustration qu’il a signée en oubliant le « n » de Frank.

02 Frak velo
04 Dessin

Disons-le, Frak détonne. C’est confrontant de voir quelqu’un d’aussi authentique. Qui s’assume lorsqu’il vous parle de son style en le qualifiant « d’un peu tout croche ». Ou quand il vous décrit sa maison en disant le plus nonchalamment du monde que « c’est un sacré bordel ». À le voir presque toujours habillé avec un de ses nombreux chandails de loups, on pourrait croire qu’il voue un culte à l’animal. Mais pas du tout. C’est un vieux running gag avec ses proches, qui s’amusent à lui offrir toutes les versions inimaginables depuis des années. La vérité, c’est que Frak se fout de comment on le perçoit. C’est comme ça avec lui : il fait les choses à sa manière, toujours un peu à l’écart de la meute.

03 Frak portrait
05 Loup
06 Sac
07 Soulier
05 Loup
06 Sac
07 Soulier
05 Loup

06 Sac

07 Soulier

Depuis qu’il est tout jeune, l’art et la nature lui coulent dans les veines. Ses origines autochtones et le mode de vie hippie de ses parents y sont pour quelque chose. Ado, il faisait fièrement partie des scouts (jusqu’à ses 18 ans!) en même temps que d’être batteur dans un groupe de stoner rock. Un des bands dans lequel il joue va même jusqu’à percer les circuits indépendants. Frak se retrouve alors à faire des tournées à s’en écorcher les pouces. Plus tard, il lance une chaîne YouTube et s’amuse à créer des vidéos autant décalées que psychédéliques. En fait, très peu de choses se rapprochent autant d’un trip d’acide que les délires visuels de Frak. À ce jour, la chaîne dépasse les 20 millions de vues. Pourtant, la majorité de ses collègues ignorent son existence.

08 Frak drum
09 Fraktopus
10 Drum

Frak a récemment mis la musique de côté pour se concentrer sur un projet qui prend tout son espace mental. L’histoire commence en 2013 lorsqu’il découvre l’existence d’un ruisseau disparu qui passait autrefois par sa cour arrière dans Mercier : le ruisseau Molson. Cette curieuse découverte vient prendre Frak aux tripes. Pas longtemps après, il se joint à cinq autres citoyens et ensemble ils fondent la Coalition Sauvons le ruisseau Molson (voir leur mémoire), qui se donne pour mission de relier une quinzaine de milieux naturels entre le nord et le sud de Montréal. Les derniers six mois, il a fait avancer ce projet à temps plein, en plus de son emploi à temps plein chez lg2. Quand il parle de ces boisés, il les appelle affectueusement « ma seigneurie ».

15 Frak banc
12 Journal
13 Map
14 Arbre coupe
12 Journal
13 Map
14 Arbre coupe
12 Journal

13 Map

14 Arbre coupe

Les week-ends de Frak sont consacrés à aller se réfugier dans la nature, avec sa femme et son fils. Ensemble, ils font de longues marches ou des rides de vélo aussi loin que possible des trottoirs asphaltés de la ville. Frak n’est jamais autant dans son élément qu’au beau milieu des bois. Faut le voir nommer à peu près n’importe quelle plante ou fleur qu’il croise sur son chemin comme si c’était de vieilles connaissances.

16 Troncs
17 Champignons
18 Feuilles
16 Troncs
17 Champignons
18 Feuilles
16 Troncs

17 Champignons

18 Feuilles

Frak appréhende le dénouement de son combat passionné pour la protection des boisés de Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve. D’ici là, il va encore bûcher fort pour empêcher qu’on mette la hache dans nos forêts. Chandail de loups sur le dos, il continuera d’aller dans des soirées mondaines pour serrer la main à autant de politiciens qu’il le faut. Ce projet, c’est sa petite contribution pour aider à ajouter un peu de vert dans notre monde. Frak est peut-être différent et c’est tant mieux. Ce sont les gens comme lui qui sortent des sentiers battus et qui, au final, finissent par faire la différence.

19 Frak end